The Basics on Illinois Teen Driving Laws
Among St. Charles auto dealers, Hawk Nissan is your local dealer always offering a great selection of both new and pre-owned vehicles at affordable prices. If you’re in the market for another family vehicle, perhaps that’s because there’s a teen in the family who’s about to become a new driver. If so, we want to share with you some of the basics of the state’s teen driving laws.
Illinois’ Graduated Driver License Program
Illinois’ Graduated Driver’s License Program permits teenagers to get driving experience before they are fully-licensed drivers. Under the GDL program:
- Teens at least 15-years-old can get a learner’s permit and start taking driver education courses. They may only drive with a parent, legal guardian or licensed driver over 21, and nighttime driving is limited. They must also complete 50 hours of driving practice time, including 10 at night, to advance in the program.
- Teens ages 16 to 17 can get their parent’s or legal guardian’s consent to get a driver’s license after the parent or legal guardian certifies they’ve completed their practice driving hours. For the first year after getting their license or until they turn 18, whichever comes first, they may have only one passenger under age 20 in the car with them, and nighttime driving is still restricted.
- For teens 18 to 20, restrictions are lifted, and they’re considered fully licensed drivers.
Zero Tolerance Policy
With these basics, there’s also a word of caution: Illinois has a zero tolerance law for drivers under 21, and conviction of alcohol-related violations can lead to severe penalties.
We hope you find this summary helpful, and we hope when you’re shopping at St. Charles auto dealers for a new or pre-owned vehicle, Hawk Nissan will be your first and only stop.